The Speaker
Monday, 24 June 2024 – 08:45

What is the new three-tier local lockdown system?

UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson has announced a new three-tiered local lockdown system to tackle rises in cases of the COVID-19 Coronavirus in England.

Speaking to MPs in the House of Commons on Monday lunchtime, Mr Johnson said that “we need to go further” and that the localised rules needed to be “simplified”.

The measures announced by the Prime Minister are expected to become effective later this week. Mr Johnson will deliver a statement to the nation at 6pm on Monday evening, where he is expected to be joined by the Chancellor Rishi Sunak and Chief Medical Officer for England, Professor Chris Whitty.

Here is a look at the new tiered system announced by the Prime Minister…


‘Very high’ alert 

This is the highest level on the tiered system and includes the strictest restrictions for areas suffering the worst and fastest-growing outbreaks of COVID-19. There are multiple restrictions for areas covered by this alert level, in addition to those in place nationwide. Measures include;

  • Inter-household mixing will be banned in all settings
  • Pubs and bars will be closed in these areas (details of which are to be confirmed)

Retail, schools and universities will though remain open in areas covered by this alert level.

Local authorities in areas with the ‘very high’ alert level, may set additional restrictions. 

Local authorities in the Liverpool City Region will move into this category from Wednesday. Gyms, leisure centres, betting shops, casinos will also close in these areas. 


‘High’ alert 

This is the second-highest level on the tiered system and includes stricter restrictions than most areas of the country. The key restriction for areas with this alert level is that inter-household mixing will be banned in indoor settings.

The rule of six will though continue in outdoor settings. 

Most areas which are currently subject to lockdown restrictions will automatically be given this alert level. In addition, Nottinghamshire, East and West Chesire and a small area of High Peak will be placed under this alert level.


‘Medium’ alert

This is the lowest level on the tiered system to cover “most of the country”. This level is for areas in England which are not classified as ‘very high’ or ‘high’ alert level.

Areas with this alert level will face current national restrictions.


Skip to content