The Speaker
Saturday, 20 July 2024 – 08:38

UK announces South America and Portugal travel ban

UK ministers have decided to implement a travel ban for arrivals to the UK from South America and Portugal, due to concerns about a Brazillian variant of COVID-19.

From 04:00 GMT on Friday, people will be banned from entering the UK if they have travelled from or through Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela anytime in the last 10 days.

Hauliers travelling from Portugal will be exempt from the rules. British and Irish citizens will also be exempt from the rules, though they will have to self-isolate for 10 days on arrival.

The new travel ban comes following similar measures designed to stop the importation of Southern Africa’s variant of the virus. Both variants are thought to be particularly easy to transmit to others, raising concerns about vulnerable people being infected. The variants aren’t though believed to be any more dangerous than other variants, including the variants currently present in the UK.

Plans are also in place to force international arrivals to the UK to prove they have tested positive for Coronavirus before travelling, however, the implementation of the plans has been delayed until next week in England.


Skip to content