The Speaker
Saturday, 20 July 2024 – 06:36

New Year’s Honours List 2020 published

The New Year’s Honours List 2020 has been published.

According to the government’s website, the list recognises ‘the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom.’

Notably, this year’s list sees honours for Singer Olivia Newton-John, Elton John, four members of England’s Cricket World Cup-winning squad, and Queen drummer Roger Taylor.

In politics, Iain Duncan Smith, who has been an MP since 1992 and Tory leader from 2001 to 2003, was awarded a knighthood alongside Bob Neill, the MP for Bromley and Chislehurst and former Conservative party vice-chairman. Labour MP for Kingston upon Hull North, Diana Johnson has been made a Dame.

It is not uncommon for long-serving MPs to be given knighthoods, however, the award to Mr Duncan Smith has received a backlash on social media from critics of the government due to him being one of the architects of the widely criticised universal credit system.

Of the 1,097 recipients, 556 were women and 9.1% were from a BAME background. 72% of recipients received their honours in respect of their work in the community. The full list can be found here.

Skip to content