The Speaker
Monday, 20 May 2024 – 22:14

New Welsh Government announced following reshuffle

First Minister of Wales Mark Drakeford has revealed his new Cabinet team following Welsh Labour’s win in the Senedd elections last week.

Two-thirds of the new Cabinet are women following a re-shuffle of ministers. As part of the changes since the election, a new climate change ministry is being formed and will bring together the environment, energy, housing, planning and transport policy areas.

Vaughan Gething, who had been serving as Health Minister, has now been appointed as Wales’ Economy Minister in order to lead the country’s economic recovery from the pandemic. Eluned Morgan has become the new Minister for Health and Social Services, while Jeremy Miles has become the new Minister for Education and the Welsh Language.

Announcing the new Cabinet, First Minister Mark Drakeford said;

“The new Cabinet is ready to get to work to set Wales on the path to recovery out of this long pandemic, which has cast such a shadow over all our lives.

“There will be challenges ahead of us – the pandemic is a public health and economic emergency with long-lasting impacts on all our lives – but this is a talented and committed team, determined to make a positive difference to Wales and for Wales.

“We will use all our efforts and energies to create a stronger, fairer and greener Wales, where no one is held back or left behind.”

The full list of ministers is as follows;

  • Mark Drakeford – First Minister
  • Vaughan Gething – Economy Minister
  • Rebecca Evans – Minister for Finance & Local Government
  • Mick Antoniw – Counsel General-designate and Minister for the Constitution
  • Dawn Bowden – Deputy Minister for Arts and Sports, and Chief Whip
  • Lesley Griffiths – Minister for Rural Affairs and North Wales, and Trefnydd
  • Jane Hutt – Minister for Social Justice
  • Hannah Blythyn – Deputy Minister for Social Partnership
  • Julie James – Minister for Climate Change
  • Lee Waters – Deputy Minister for Climate Change
  • Jeremy Miles – Minister for Education and the Welsh Language
  • Eluned Morgan – Minister for Health and Social Services
  • Julie Morgan – Deputy Minister for Social Services
  • Lynne Neagle – Deputy Minister for Mental Health & Wellbeing
Skip to content