The Speaker
Sunday, 19 May 2024 – 19:37

National Assembly of Wales renamed to Senedd Cymru/Welsh Parliament

Today is the first day of the Senedd Cymru – the Welsh Parliament.

Previously known as the National Assembly for Wales, its name has changed to reflect the powers and responsibilities the institution has gained over the last 21 years, according to the Senedd’s Presiding Officer Elin Jones.

Politicians were previously known as Assembly Members (AMs), but will now become Members of the Senedd (MSs)

Proposals to rename the assembly date back many years, with calls to rename it to the Welsh Parliament being made back in 2012.

While the change in name does not see any major changes to the powers or the operations of the institution, the name change will still no doubt be seen as a significant moment in the history of Wales and devolution more generally. 

Skip to content