The Speaker
Sunday, 21 July 2024 – 07:19

More areas in England to face Tier 4 restrictions, Health Secretary confirms

Three-quarters of England’s population are to face Tier 4 lockdown restrictions from Thursday, Health Secretary Matt Hancock has told MPs.

The announcement comes following the latest review of tier allocations in England, with Coronavirus cases rising sharply in many areas. Many of the recent new cases of the virus are believed to be that of the new variant of COVID-19, which is thought to be around 70% more transmissible than the previous variant.

Many areas will be moving into Tier 4, which requires people to stay at home, except for a limited number of essential reasons. Many other areas will move into Tier 3.


Changes to England’s Coronavirus Tier Allocations from 00:01 on Thursday 31 December 2020

Areas Moving Into Tier 4

  • Leicester City
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Coventry
  • Solihull
  • Warwickshire
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Lancashire
  • Cheshire and Warrington
  • Cumbria
  • Greater Manchester
  • Tees Valley
  • North East
  • Gloucestershire
  • Somerset council
  • Swindon
  • Bournemouth
  • Isle of Wight
  • New Forest

Areas Moving Into Tier 3

  • Rutland
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin
  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Liverpool City Region 
  • York & North Yorkshire 
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Devon, Plymouth, Torbay
  • Cornwall
  • Dorset
  • Wiltshire


Skip to content