Tuesday, 5 July 2022 – 23:08

More MPs quit to join the Independent Group

Ann Soubry, Sarah Wollaston and Heidi Allen have resigned from the Conservative Party to join the Independent Group.

In their resignation statements, the MPs said;

“We no longer feel we can remain in the Party of a Government whose policies and priorities are so firmly in the grip of the ERG and the DUP” “Brexit has re-defined the Conservative Party – undoing all the efforts to modernise it.”

The resignations see the number of MPs in the Independent Group reach 11. The resignations also see the Conservative party’s working majority in government reduce.

Theresa May has responded saying;

 “I am saddened by this decision – these are people who have given dedicated service to our party over many years, and I thank them for it. 

“Of course, the UK’s membership of the EU has been a source of disagreement both in our party and our country for a long time. Ending that membership after four decades was never going to be easy.

“But by delivering on our manifesto commitment and implementing the decision of the British people we are doing the right thing for our country. And in doing so, we can move forward together towards a brighter future.

“I am determined that under my leadership the Conservative Party will always offer the decent, moderate and patriotic politics that the people of this country deserve.”

More follows…

Skip to content