Thursday, 11 August 2022 – 15:06

Boris Johnson to chair first Cabinet as PM – find out who’s who

Boris Johnson is to chair the first meeting of his brand new cabinet this morning, with a team vastly different to that under the premiership of Theresa May.

Key appointments include Sajid Javid as Chancellor and Jacob Rees Mogg as leader of the House of Commons. Gavin Williamson returns to government in the role of Education Secretary, just months after being sacked over a leak. Priti Patel, who was previously ousted from government over her attendance at unauthorised meetings held with senior Israeli officials in 2017, has been given a top job of Home Secretary. Boris Johnson’s brother, Jo Johnson has also been given a role in cabinet

It is understood that leadership contest rival Jeremy Hunt declined a role in the new cabinet, returning to the backbenchers with over 15 others that either resigned or were sacked shortly after Mr Johnson became Prime Minister.

  • Most of Mr Johnson’s cabinet have had some experience before as cabinet ministers. Only eight out of the total 31 positions (26%) have gone to women, a figure lower than the 2007, 2015 and 2016 governments, which had 30%, 29% and 30% of cabinet made up by women respectively.


Here’s a look at the appointments to Boris Johnson’s cabinet:

  • Prime Minister – Boris Johnson
  • Chancellor – Sajid Javid
  • Home Secretary – Priti Patel
  • Foreign Secretary – Dominic Raab
  • Brexit Secretary – Stephen Barclay
  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster – Michael Gove
  • Defence Secretary – Ben Wallace
  • International Trade Secretary – Liz Truss
  • Health & Social Care Secretary – Matt Hancock
  • Environment Secretary – Theresa Villiers
  • Education Secretary – Gavin Williamson
  • Culture Secretary – Nicky Morgan
  • Business Secretary – Andrea Leadsom
  • Housing & Communities Secretary – Robert Jenrick
  • Work & Pensions and Women & Equalities Secretary – Amber Rudd
  • Justice Secretary – Robert Buckland
  • International Development Secretary – Alok Sharma
  • Transport Secretary – Grant Shapps
  • Welsh Secretary – Alun Cairns
  • Scottish Secretary – Alister Jack
  • Northern Ireland Secretary – Julian Smith
  • Leader of Lords – Baroness Evans
  • Party Chairman – James Cleverly


The following people attend Cabinet but are not full members;

  • Leader of the Commons – Jacob Rees-Mogg
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury – Rishi Sunak
  • Chief Whip – Mark Spencer
  • Attorney General – Geoffrey Cox
  • Minister for Housing, Communities and Local Government – Esther McVey
  • Minister for Business, Energy, Industrial Strategy and Education – Jo Johnson
  • Minister for Home – Brandon Lewis
  • Paymaster General – Oliver Dowden

The Cabinet contains both MPs who voted Remain and Leave, but the top jobs have mostly gone to Leave supporters. 

Cabinet will meet at 8.30 this morning, before Mr Johnson will make a statement to the House of Commons and face his first showdown with opposition leader, Jeremy Corbyn.


Photo Credit: EU2017EE Estonian Presidency [CC BY 2.0]

Skip to content