The Speaker
Tuesday, 5 December 2023 – 01:16

Explaining Politics in Germany

Germany, officially known as the Federal Republic of Germany is a country in Europe home to around 83 million people.

The German political system today is one that mirrors many of the institutions across European democracies; a distinctly multi-party electoral system with frequent governing coalitions (government through multiple different parties), although since 1949 the nation has been dominated by two parties, The Christian Democratic Union (CDU) and the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD).

The German system is a Federal Parliamentary Republic, meaning that the power is vested in the people and that there is a significant degree of power devolved to the different German states. In this sense (being a Federal Republic) Germany is similar to the United States, however, unlike the US, Germany has a Parliament from which the leader of the government is drawn.

Click through the tabs below to learn more about politics in Germany.

Skip to content