The Speaker
Friday, 14 June 2024 – 10:40

House of Commons gives final approval to Brexit Withdrawal Agreement

MPs in the House of Commons have given their final backing of Boris Johnson’s Brexit Deal that is due to see the UK leave the EU on January 31.

The Withdrawal Agreement Bill passed its third reading with a strong majority of 99 as 330 MPs voted in favour of the bill on Thursday, and 231 voted against.

The UK voted to leave the European Union on June 23, 2016, but former Prime Minister Theresa May was unable to pass a Withdrawal Agreement through Parliament.

Following the vote, Brexit Secretary Steve Barclay said the bill will deliver on the “overwhelming mandate” given to the Conservative Party at the General Election to take Britain out of the EU on January 31, 2020. The SNP and Liberal Democrats have continued to express their opposition to the bill – Liberal Democrat Brexit spokesperson Alistair Carmichael described the bill as ‘dangerous’, while SNP Westminster leader Ian Blackford described “a constitutional crisis”.

The Withdrawal Agreement Bill will move to the Hosue of Lords next week where it will face further scrutiny before it can become law.

The Withdrawal Agreement is just stage one of Brexit – once the UK has left the EU, it will enter a transition period in which it will need to negotiate a future relationship with the bloc, for which the current deadline to do so is the end of December this year.

Skip to content