Cookie Consent by TermsFeed The Speaker

Photo Credit: G20 Argentina on Flickr - Licence (CC BY 2.0)

G7/8/20 - Explaining All The Gs

There are multiple political institutions that go by the name of 'G' - here's how to tell them apart.

The G7/G8 and G20 are organisations which monitor and address developments in the world economy.

The G7 was formed in 1975, originally as the Group of Six (G6) including France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States. Canada joined the group in the following year, creating the G7.

In 1998, the G8 was formed when Russia was added to the G7, however, the country was later expelled for its annexation (unauthorised taking) of Crimea in 2014. The group then returned to the name of the G7. Today, there are 7 member states of the G7, including;

  • Canada
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

The European Union is also a member of the G7, but as it is not a country, it is not included in the number. All members (except the EU) take turns to be the president of the organisation each year. The president nation hosts the summit in their state and sets the agenda for the summit, though in 2020, the summit was cancelled and an online conference was held instead due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Click through the tabs below to learn more.