The Speaker
Saturday, 18 May 2024 – 10:58

Government announces green list countries for international travel from 17 May

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has announced a list of 12 countries which people will be able to visit from 17 May without needing to quarantine on their return to the UK.

Portugal, Australia and Gibraltar are among the list of countries, though many popular destinations for English tourists have not made it onto the list.

From 17 May, international travel from England for leisure purposes will be allowed once again, however, it will be based upon a traffic light system. People travelling from countries on the green list will not have to quarantine on their arrival in England, though those arriving from amber list countries will have to quarantine at home for 10 days. Arrivals from red list countries will have to pay £1,750 to stay in a government-approved quarantine hotel on their arrival in England.

In addition to the quarantine rules, people will also have to provide proof of a negative coronavirus test at the border. Those travelling from green list countries will have to take a COVID-19 test before flying back to the UK, and then again two days after their return. All other arrivals will have to take a test before they depart, on day two after arrival and on day eight after arrival.

The placement of countries in the different lists is based upon the perceived COVID-19 risk in each country. Countries with slower vaccine rollouts or high cases of the virus have not been added to the green list.

The UK Government will review the categories every three weeks, but may move countries to different categories at any time. Foreign countries may still impose their own rules on arrivals, such as quarantine measures or banning arrivals altogether – even if they are on the UK’s green list.

Announcing the plans in a press conference from Downing Street, Mr Shapps said, “We want a summer in which we can reunite family and friends, travel to places we love. We want to start looking outward again”. As well as sounding some notes of optimism, Mr Shapps warned that many countries are facing very different public health situations and described the plans he set out as “necessarily cautious”.

The full lists of the countries can be found below.

It was also announced at the press conference that a number of coronavirus-related Border Force checks are being digitised, though passengers should still expect some delays.  Mr Shapps also confirmed that those people who have been fully vaccinated will be able to show their Coronavirus status on the NHS app from 17 May, and those without the app will be able to request a letter.

The Government is advising people against booking holidays that do not include a refund for COVID-19 changes.


{tab Green List Countries}

People who have travelled from the below countries will not have quarantine on arrival into the UK.

  • Portugal including the Azores and Madeira
  • Australia
  • New Zealand 
  • Singapore
  • Brunei 
  • Iceland
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar 
  • Falkland Islands
  • Israel

{tab Amber List Countries}

People who have travelled from or through the below countries will have to quarantine at home for 10 days on their arrival into the UK.

  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • France
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Spain
  • USA

{tab Red List Countries}

People who have travelled from or through the below countries will have to pay to quarantine in a government-approved hotel on arrival in the UK.

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


Skip to content