Cookie Consent by TermsFeed The Speaker

E Explainers

Tier system allocations revealed - find out Coronavirus restrictions for your area

Tier system allocations revealed - find out Coronavirus restrictions for your area

Health Secretary Matt Hancock has announced allocations to England's revised local lockdown system, which will come into effect from Wednesday 2 December.

The revisions to the system compared to before national lockdown measures were implemented for the second time mean that more areas are in the highest two tiers of the system. The system has three tiers - medium (1), high (2) and very high (3) - referring to the perceived Coronavirus risk in each area.

The allocations are to be reviewed every two weeks. Click through the tabs below to learn more about the restrictions, or scroll down to find out which tier your local area has been allocated to.


Guide to Restrictions


Allocations from 2 December

Tier 3 - Very High Alert

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire, Blackpool and Blackburn with Darwen
  • Tees Valley Combined Authority
  • North East Combined Authority
  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull
  • Slough
  • Kent & Medway
  • Bristol, South Gloucestershire, North Somerset


Tier 2 - High Alert

  • Liverpool City Region
  • Chesire (including Warrington)
  • Cumbria
  • York and North Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin
  • Herefordshire
  • Worcestershire
  • London
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Norfolk
  • Cambridge and Peterborough
  • Hertfordshire
  • Suffolk
  • Hampshire, Porsmouth and Southampton
  • East and West Sussex and Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading, Wokingham, Bracknell Forest, Windsor and Maidenhead, West Berkshire
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Somerset and Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset, Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon


Tier 1 - Medium Alert

  • Isle of Wight
  • Cornwall
  • Isles of Scilly