The Speaker
Sunday, 21 July 2024 – 08:29

Ed Miliband returns to Labour Party’s front bench as Sir Keir Starmer appoints new shadow cabinet

Former Labour leader Ed Miliband has been appointed as Shadow Business Secretary in Sir Keir Stamer’s new Shadow Cabinet.

Mr Miliband replaces Rebecca Long-Bailey, who was runner-up to Sir Keir in the Labour leadership contest, however, she will keep her position in the shadow cabinet by moving to the role of Shadow Education Secretary.

A number of people who were particularly loyal to Jeremy Corbyn, including Richard Burgon, Dawn Butler and Barry Gardiner, have left the cabinet.

Announcing the new Shadow Cabinet, Sir Keir said;

“I’m proud to have appointed a Shadow Cabinet that showcases the breadth, depth and talents of the Labour Party.

“This is a new team that will be relentlessly focused on acting in the national interest to respond to the coronavirus pandemic and rebuilding Labour so that it can win the next election.”

The new Shadow Cabinet as announced so far is as follows;

  • Sir Keir Stamer – Leader of the Opposition
  • Angela Rayner – Deputy Leader and Chair of the Labour Party
  • Anneliese Dodds – Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer
  • Lisa Nandy – Shadow Foreign Secretary
  • Nick Thomas-Symonds – Shadow Home Secretary
  • Rachel Reeves – Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  • David Lammy – Shadow Justice Secretary
  • John Healey – Shadow Defence Secretary
  • Ed Miliband – Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Emily Thornberry – Shadow International Trade Secretary
  • Jonathan Reynolds – Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary
  • Jonathan Ashworth – Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care
  • Rebecca Long-Bailey – Shadow Education Secretary
  • Jo Stevens – Shadow Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Secretary
  • Bridget Philipson – Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury
  • Luke Pollard – Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary
  • Steve Reed – Shadow Communities and Local Government Secretary
  • Thangam Debbonaire – Shadow Housing Secretary
  • Jim McMahon – Shadow Transport Secretary
  • Preet Kaur Gill – Shadow International Development Secretary
  • Louise Haigh – Interim Shadow Nothern Ireland Secretary
  • Ian Murray – Shadow Scotland Secretary
  • Nia Griffith – Shadow Wales Secretary
  • Marsha de Cordova – Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary
  • Andy McDonald – Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary
  • Rosena Alin-Khan – Shadow Minister for Mental Health
  • Cat Smith – Shadow Minister for Young People and Voter Engagement
  • Lord Falconer – Shadow Attorney General
  • Valerie Vaz – Shadow Leader of the House
  • Nick Brown – Opposition Chief Whip
  • Baroness Smith – Leader of the House of Lords
  • Lord McAvoy – Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip



Photo: Ed Miliband in 2015 | Credit: Fabian Society via Flickr under licence (CC BY 2.0)


Skip to content