The Speaker
Wednesday, 17 July 2024 – 20:56

Change UK down to five MPs as six quit just months after party’s creation

Six Change UK MPs have quit the party just months after its creation before the EU Elections

The party, formally known as the Independent Group, failed to get a single MEP elected at last month’s EU elections. The party was formed of 11MPs who had quit the Conservatives and Labour.

With just 5 MPs left in the party, the party has announced that Ann Soubry has been elected as their new leader.

Ms Soubry said that she was “deeply disappointed” that Heidi Allen, Chukka Umunna, Sarah Wollaston, Angela Smith, Luciana Berger and Gavin Shuker had left the party, and that “now is not the time to walk away, but instead to roll up our sleeves and stand up for the sensible mainstream centre ground which is unrepresented in British politics today.”

The six MPs leaving the party said in a joint statement that they would be “returning to supporting each other as an independent grouping of MPs”.

In the joint statement, the MPs added;

“We know the landscape will continue to shift within the political environment and have concluded that by returning to sit as independents, we will be best placed to work cross-party and respond flexibly.

“We wish our colleagues well as they continue to build Change UK.”


Change UK has so far struggled to take off, with it performing poorly at the EU election and failing to make an impact with just 3.3% of the vote. The pro-remain party is thought to have suffered from internal divisions over its direction and whether it could form some type of alliance with the Liberal Democrats. Recent Westminister voting intention polls have seen Change UK with just 1 percentage point.


Skip to content