The Speaker
Sunday, 19 May 2024 – 18:56

All 6 Premier League teams withdraw from European Super League

All six of the Premier League teams that were involved in the European Super League have formally withdrawn from the competition.

Manchester City and Chelsea were the first clubs to withdraw from the competition on Tuesday evening, and they were later followed by Manchester United, Tottenham, Arsenal and Liverpool just hours later.

Shortly before 9pm on Tuesday evening, Prime Minister Boris Johnson commended Manchester City and Chelsea for planning to withdraw from the league and said that he hoped other clubs would follow their lead.

The announcement of the league at the weekend was met with widespread condemnation from football fans, players, managers and authorities alike. Earlier on Tuesday, the Government met with representatives from the FA, Premier League and fan groups to consider ways to stop plans for the league from progressing.

Fan protests also took place at a number of grounds, including ahead of Chelsea’s fixture against Brighton at Stamford Bridge.

Among the messages from clubs withdrawing from the competition, Tottenham Hotspur said “we regret the anxiety and upset caused by the ESL proposal”, while Arsenal apologised saying they had “made a mistake”.


Skip to content